Walkerville’s Sporting Clubs

Walkerville Junior Football Club

The Walkerville Junior Football Club’s first committee formed in 1961 and the club has won more than 40 premierships since 1971. With 21 teams ranging from Under 6’s to Under 14’s, this year, most years have seen 200-420 registered players with a variety of AFL players having come through the junior ranks.  The clubs current Coordinator is Martin Palmer, Ph: 0418 819 383For more infomation on the club head to http://www.wjfc.com.au/

Walkerville Netball Club

The Walkerville Netball Club (WNC) was established in 2010 by a group of young country girls who wanted to play competitive netball in Adelaide but with a social edge and country feel to the club. In 2010 they had 16 girls and 2 teams, both in C grade. In 2011, they grew to 50 girls with 6 teams, the top being in B5. In 2012, their B4 team came in 2nd and their B5 and B3 teams won WNC’s first premierships. In 2013, WNC did not take home any premierships but several of their teams made it to finals. In 2014, WNC has 8 teams with a total of 80 players (making them the largest senior netball club in the AMND competition). Their teams range in skill levels from B2s down to C4s.

2014 is shaping up to be a big year with the 8 teams filling up with players in record time and plenty of girls on waiting list coming into the season. With that being said, the WNC ladies hate turning away potential players. Even though ANC is currently at capacity for the 2014 season, please contact Jessica Nicholls on 0422131038 if you would be interested in playing for the Cats this year or in 2015.

Walkerville Cricket Club

The Walkerville Cricket Club was formed in 1915 and won their first premiership in the Adelaide & Suburban Cricket Association in 1933/34. After a brief interlude during the war years the club reformed in 1946 and went on to dominate in the Prospect District Cricket Association winning 8 out of 11 A Grade Premierships in the 1960’s. Joining the Adelaide Turf Cricket Association in 1971/72, turf wickets were laid on Walkerville Oval and an A Grade premiership was won that year, albeit in A7. The club gained promotion to A1 in 1981/82 and went on to win A1 Premierships in 1982/83 and 1985/86.  A2 Premierships were won in 2004/05 and 2009/10. Notable players have included Ron Phillips, Barrie Robran (dual Magarey Medal Winner), league footballers Mal Whitford, Colin McInnis, Ron Hewitt and David Wildy. Graham Winter and Damian Reeves both represented SA at state level while test cricketers Terry Jenner and Jeff Hammond both coached the club. Former President Bob Mylrea played a record 452 games for the club between 1946-86. The club currently field 4 Senior teams in the ATCA and 15 Junior teams in the ATCA and NEJCA.

The current President is Craig Jervies, Ph: 0413 305 084

Walkerville Softball Club

The Walkerville Softball Club was established in 1947 as the Northern Districts Softball Club dominating the SA Softball Association for the first 20 years. Since changing to it’s current name in the late 1960, more than 20 premierships have been won through 8 junior and senior grades with the club winning more A-Grade flags than any other club. State representatives have included; Hidi Bet, Rebecca Penny, Danni Garrod, Toni Lomann, Marianne McGahey, Mandy Kaselow, Lyn Spry and Barbara Bawden to name a few. Club legend Linda Martin has played over 500 for the club since she was 11yrs of age and represented SA and Australia. Current President is Karyn Dale (KD), Ph: 0410 314 286

The Razorbacks

The Razorbacks Grid Iron team was established in 1985 and uses the Walkerville Oval as a training facility whilst playing it’s games at the Pines Stadium, Gepps Cross. The club won it’s 18th Premiership in 2009.


Walkerville FC Golf Day
After a successful event last year, the Walkerville FC Golf Day will return in 2018! Lock Friday 19 October in you ...

More Info

2018 WFC Business Lunch
Mark Friday 10 August in your calendars for this year’s WFC Business Lunch! This year we will be joined by ...

More Info

Media Feed